BO key binds for text

Only posts related to the Call of Duty "COD" franchise.
Post Reply
l2es-ArmyMan
Posts: 318
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 1:00 am
Location: Behind you with a knife.

BO key binds for text

Post by l2es-ArmyMan » Mon May 30, 2011 12:11 am

After repeatedly seeing mrix getting killed because he stopped to type sorry for his many many team kills, i decided to share how to bind text to keys in BO so maybe that wont happen again (Well the part of him having to stop to type, and not him stopping his team killing rampage.)

How to configure binds

Go in the folder of the game "Call of Duty"

On Window7 : C:/Program/Steam/SteamApps/common/call of duty black ops/player

Open the file config_mp.cfg with a text editor (ex: Wordpad)
Add your binds in this file. Go back to a new line for each "bind"

Structure of a bind

bind H "say Hello"

H : is the id of your key that is assigned to the action
say : tell that the message is going to be transmitted to everybody
Hello : is the message that is going to be displayed

Key that you can use for your bind

H, J, K, L, M, U, I, O, P
F4, F5, F6, F7, F8, F9 et F11
General keyboard : 2, 3, 5, 8, 9, 0.
Numerical keyboard : 5

Colors

You can add color to your text adding the symbol ^ and then the number of the color. White is the default color.
Example

To display the word "color" in red, you should write :

^1color

^0 - black
^1 - red
^2 - green
^3 - yellow
^4 - blue
^5 - light blue
^6 - pink
^7 - white
^8 = grey
^9 = black

Warning

After saving your file, you must put your file on "read only" mode. To do that, right click on the file and open the properties. If you don't do that, your binds will be erased. If you need to make changes afterwards again, you will need to take the file off of "read only" mode, make the changes necessary, and then reapply the "read only" mode
Don't assign keys to your binds that are already assigned to other actions.


Adding Text with Spaces

My prior post stated to add _ for spaces, only issue was that they would also show up in chat as well. Below is a way to add binds with spaces as well as how to add a bind for teamchat only.

bind B "say \"Good Game\""

bind b "say_team \"Sorry for Teamkill\"
Last edited by l2es-ArmyMan on Sat Jun 04, 2011 7:26 pm, edited 2 times in total.



l2es-roguesamurai
Posts: 1800
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Athlone, Ireland

Post by l2es-roguesamurai » Mon May 30, 2011 12:28 am

Cheers Army, this will come in usefull

l2es-ArmyMan
Posts: 318
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 1:00 am
Location: Behind you with a knife.

Post by l2es-ArmyMan » Sat Jun 04, 2011 7:24 pm

I changed the last portion of the how to. I found a better way to add binds that include spaces and do not require the _ symbol between. The old way would allow spaces but would show in chat the _ symbol as well. Now with the new change, as seen above, you can add spaces with no issues to your binds. Also added how to have a Team Chat only bind as well, for team kills and such.

Other note, if you have already added binds, and made you config a read only document, you will need to undo the read only to be able to make changes to your config. After completing changes you can simply re add the read only option. If this is not done any added binds will be deleted from config.
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests